Oman launches new visa procedures

Oman launches new visa procedures

As part of its initiatives to streamline travel procedures, the Sultanate of Oman has recently launched an online visa portal, where eVisas can be secured prior to travellers’ arrival.

Guests from 68 countries* used to apply for visas-on-arrival at designated desks in the airport, adding a queue to line up in as they enter the destination. To simplify this process and make arrival procedures as quick and hassle-free as possible, Immigration authorities are highly recommending all tourists to have their eVisas ready prior to their travel date.

With the complete transition underway, the Sultanate will soon discontinue the issuance of visas-upon-arrival at the airport entirely. This means everyone would then be required to apply for pre-arranged visas. 

Through our dedicated office in the Sultanate, Gulf Dunes can certainly arrange your guests’ visas well in advance and ensure their smooth, hassle-free arrival in the country. We make it a priority to start all our MICE programmes on a good note, so from visa application to meet and assist at the airport–everything is taken care of.

If you have any questions or need clarifications, please get in touch with any of our representatives and project managers.



*The 68 countries (now 72, based on a recent government announcement adding Ukraine, Russia, Iran and China) whose nationals may still apply for visa-on-arrival are: Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Britain, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland,France, French Guiana, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Islamic Republic of Iran, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Macedon, Malaysia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Paraguay, People’s Republic of China, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Special Administrative Region of China, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United States, Uruguay, Vatican, Venezuela